Program on Astrophysical Turbulence (April 3, 2000 - June 16, 2000)
Coordinators: Eve Ostriker & Ellen Zweibel

  Seminars Online
  ..Announcement >

  This Week
  Next Week
  HydroT Program

 ITP Conference on

Astrophysical Turbulence

May 8-12, 2000

Coordinators: E. Ostriker and E. Zweibel


It is difficult to exaggerate the importance of turbulence in astrophysics, or the challenges that it poses. Turbulence is responsible for dynamical pressure support, energy and angular momentum transport, chemical mixing, and magnetic field generation and evolution in a host of astrophysical settings, including stars, accretion disks, the interstellar medium, and the solar wind. Turbulent astrophysical flows differ from terrestrial forms of turbulence which have been studied traditionally by virtue of their inherent compressibility, strong radiative cooling, self-gravity, and the importance in many environments of magnetic fields. In this workshop we focus on turbulent processes in a variety of settings. The mornings will be in the usual conference format, with a program of invited talks, and the afternoons will be organized into discussion sections, including short contributions.

Confirmed speakers include:  Jonathan Arons, Steven Balbus, Sarbani Basu, Nicolas Brummell, Benjamin Chandran, Stephen Childress, William Coles, James Cordes, Steven Cowley, Julian Elliott, George Field, Peter Gilman, Jeremy Goodman, John Hawley, Russell Kulsrud, Dana Longcope, Phillip Myers, Eve Ostriker, Alan Title, Steven Tobias, Juri Toomre, and Jean-Paul Zahn.

For further information about the scientific aspects of the conference, please contact:
E. Ostriker (ostriker@astro.umd.edu) or E. Zweibel (zweibel@lepton.colorado.edu).  For logistic details, please contact Dorene Sexton Iverson (dorene@itp.ucsb.edu).

Attendance at the conference is limited. Registration can be filled out on the ITP web site.  See http://www.itp.ucsb.edu/conference/Astro-Reg.html

Deadline for Registration is April 15, 2000

last modified (1/24/00 by dsi)